Physics extended essay (not hwk)

In summary, the speaker is an IB student who has completed experiments for their extended essay in physics. They are concerned about the simplicity of their topic and their teacher suggested investigating the efficiency of bounces at different temperatures. The speaker wonders what the significance of this investigation would be. Investigating the efficiency of bounces can provide insight into the properties of the ball and how temperature affects them. This can lead to conclusions about the relationships between temperature, elasticity, and air resistance.
Bj0rn
hey people! so I am an IB student who has chosen to do his extended essay in physics

so I've done all the experiments that i wanted to do for my topic. but now I am just concerned if its too simple (is that something they consider?) well anyway, my case is that i investigated the effect of temperature on how high a ball bounces at a few different temperatures which gave me some nice results. but i wanted to make it a bit more specific and my teacher suggested to investigate the efficiency of bounces (measure how high it bounces the first and second time and see how much lower it bounces each time). that's a nice idea but where is it going tho? does that mean anything if the efficiency is lower?
thanks a lot!

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, it's definitely something they consider. Investigating the efficiency of bounces can tell you a lot about the properties of the ball and the effect of temperature on those properties. For example, if you find that the efficiency of bounces decreases with increasing temperature, it could be due to a decrease in the elasticity of the material or an increase in air resistance. You can also use your results to draw conclusions about the relationships between temperature, elasticity, and air resistance, which would make for a great extended essay. Good luck!