Particle physics calculations?

In summary, the speaker is having trouble getting the correct answers from their calculator when working on particle physics equations. They have tried using brackets and adjusting their calculator's settings, but are still unable to get the desired result. They are seeking help and advice on how to solve this issue.
bobo343
I'm currently studying physics at A-level, and for particle physics I'm fine about the theory of the equations, I remember what equations to use etc, but I can't seem to get the right answers from my calculator.

For example, when working out the specific charge of a carbon ion with Z = 6, A = 13 and a charge of 2+, the necessary equation would be Specific Charge = charge/mass.

Which is: 2 x 1.60 x 10^-19 / 6 x 1.67 x 10^-27 + 7 x 1.67 x 10^-27 + 4 x 9.11 x 10^-31

When shortened is: 2 x 1.60 x 10^-19 / 13 x 1.67 x 10^-27

Which finally should = 1.47 x10^7 C kg^-1

But when I enter 2 x 1.60 x 10^-19 / 13 x 1.67 x 10^-27 into my calculator, I get a vastly different answer of 4.110769231 x 10^-47

Is there something I'm doing wrong? We haven't done particle physics in a while and I might be missing a vital step.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
I suggest you use brackets around the terms to ensure your calculator is doing exactly what you want it to.
(2x1.6x10^-19) / (13x1.67x10^-27)
and try again now.

Alright, with the brackets I get 14739751.27.

Is there any way I can set my calculator to give me the answer with the x10^n? (n just being whatever power)

Thanks for the help.

It depends on the calculator, but mine has a "scientific" setting, where the results in exponentials come up as e.g. 3.4567Exp8.
It's probably not a bad idea to practise putting things in the right scientific notation anyway though.

Related to Particle physics calculations?

1. What is particle physics and why is it important?