on Selecting the Real Analysis textbooks

In summary, the person is a sophomore in the US with double majors in mathematics and microbiology. They are interested in self-studying real analysis to help with their current research on computational microbiology and prepare for upcoming math research and competitions. They have already read several textbooks on calculus and are now looking for recommendations for elementary and intermediate real analysis textbooks. They are considering "Undergraduate Analysis" by Serge Lang or "Mathematical Analysis" by Tom Apostol, along with "The Way of Analysis" by Robert Strichartz. They are also considering using Rudin's "Principles of Mathematical Analysis" later on. They are seeking advice on which books to buy and whether to also purchase Spivak's "Calculus"
bacte2013
Dear Physics Forum friends,

I am a sophomore in US with double majors in mathematics and microbiology. I am interested in self-studying the real analysis starting now since it will help me on my current research on computational microbiology, prepare for upcoming math research (starting on this Fall) on the analytic number theory, and prepare for the real analysis course I will take on Fall and Putnam competition. I just finished "Calculus with Analytic Geometry" by G. Simmons, "How to Prove It" by Daniel Velleman, and "How to Solve It" by G. Polya. I also read some portions of Apostol's Calculu Vol.I to get a deeper view on the calculus theories. I was originally planned to read Apostol's Calculus Vol.I and Spivak's Calculus first, but I think it would be a better idea to start with real analysis since it covers all ideas in those "advanced calculus" textbooks and much more. My current plan is to start with one "dumbed-down" real analysis textbook and one "comprehensive, detailed, and intermediate" textbook, and advance into Rudin's PMA (required textbook for my real analysis course) starting on Summer and use it in accordance with other real analysis textbooks.