Not sure what lab experiment to choose

In summary, the speaker is fortunate to have the opportunity to choose between two labs for their undergraduate studies. The first lab focuses on triboluminescence and involves studying the spectra of adhesive rubber, while the second lab focuses on nuclear quadrupole resonance and requires a strong understanding of physics and chemistry. The speaker is unsure which lab to choose and is seeking advice from others. They are also considering the potential impact of their decision on their future academic pursuits. The speaker encourages the reader to carefully consider their personal interests and goals before making a decision and suggests reaching out to experts in the field for more information.
fluidistic
Gold Member
I'm fortunate enough that I can choose between several labs and for my last choice I struggle between 2. I'm still an undergraduate student and the lab experiments aren't real research in the sense that I'm not supposed to discover anything new and they are meant for us to get experience in several fields and somehow study things close to real research.
The choices I'm doubtful about are:
1)Triboluminescence. The lab will be based on characterising the spectra coming from an adhesive rubber while varying some parameters (speed of unrolling, etc.).
2)Nuclear quadrupole resonance. We would study some properties of a very particular molecule.

1) seems the funniest thing to study. Though I think I could study this in almost any lab in the world.
2) seems extremely interesting to me, but I fear a bit the physics knowledge involved. I wonder if NQR is something easy to work on in say, most universities.

If some day I get the opportunity to go for a Ph.D. or a Master degree, I don't want to regret not having studied NQR.

Do you have any experience in either field? If you haven't but if you still have an idea about what either of these choices involve, please feel free to share.
Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org