Nick"Nick's Pursuit of Physics: Choosing a Trade & Preparing for the Future

In summary, Nick, a 14-year-old freshman in high school, dreams of becoming a theoretical physicist after being inspired by Michio Kaku. He attends a vocational school and is struggling to choose between electronics and drafting as a trade to aid his pursuit of physics. He seeks advice on what courses to take and extracurricular activities to do in order to become the best physicist he can be. It is recommended that he focus on taking math courses such as calculus, differential equations, and linear algebra, and also consider abstract algebra and differential geometry. He should also take as many physics courses as possible and refer to John Baez's reading list. However, it is important to note that most theoretical physicists have post-graduate degrees.
Unspaced
Hello all,

My name is Nick and I'm a 14 year old freshman in high school. Since I first heard Michio Kaku on Coast To Coast AM a few years back I've dreamed of being a physicist.

Naturally I've been into science and the sciences as my father is an enviromental science teacher at my local high school (I attend a different vocational school). But right now I've got my heart set on a theoretical physicist of some sort.

So, like I mentioned, I attend a vocational school, meaning I choose a vocation which I want to studdy and be taught for half of my school life. I'm having trouble as to what I should choose as a trade. I want to do something that could help me in my persuit of physics and right now I'm debating over electronics and drafting. Electronics is basically working with circuits, making CD players work, etc. and drafting is basically designing houses and such.

My question is which trade should I take?

Also, what else should I do in my young teenager years to help me become the best physicist I can be when I'm old enough to actually become one.

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org