Newbie physics help? im suffering from not smart syndrome

• Thread starter newphysicist
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the conversation discusses two physics problems. The first problem involves calculating the distance a hockey puck will slide before coming to a rest on ice with a friction of 0.09 kinetic. The second problem involves calculating various forces in a train with 3 cars and an acceleration of 1.54 m/s^2. These forces include the tension force between cars, the braking force when the brakes are suddenly applied, the engine force needed to keep the train moving at a constant velocity, and the engine force needed to accelerate the train at a rate of 1.0m/s^2. The conversation also includes attempts at solving the problems and a request for help in understanding the correct answers.
newphysicist
Hi, I am new at physics, and i can't seem to get the right answer for these questions. Quick help would be appreciated.

q1: A hockey player shoots a 200 gram puck at 25m/s. the ice has a friction of 0.09 kinetic.
how far will the puck slide before it comes to a rest?

q2: A train has 3 cars, mc, mb, and ma. The acceleration of the train is 1.54 m/s^2. ma has a mass for 10kg, mb a mass of 35kg, mc has a mass of 20kg.The force of the train is 100 N forward.
Note: No friction in part a and b!
<mc-mb-ma> <-train going east
a) Calculate the tension force between ma and mb as well as the tension force between mb and mc.
b)Also calculate the braking force of the train if it is moving at 20 m/s when the brakes are suddenly applied. if it takes 23m to stop, calculate the braking force.
c) (with friction) If the coefficent of kinetic friction is equal to 0.10, calculate the engine force required to keep the train moving at a constant velocity. there are only frictional forces on car b and c.
d)Calculate the engine force that is required to accelerate the train at a rate of 1.0m/s^2[E]

Attempt at a solution: