New to this site, could use some advise.

• Thread starter ILoveScience
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Advise
In summary, the conversation is about a person wanting to learn about science and physics through reading books and watching videos. They are seeking advice on which books to read and how many books they would need to understand the subject. The conversation also touches on the idea of needing a college degree to be considered knowledgeable in a field and the importance of practical application in understanding physics. The general consensus is that while a degree may not be necessary, reading textbooks and doing problems is the best way to learn and understand physics.
ILoveScience
Hey there everyone.. I am new to this site and i was hoping to ask some questions relating to books. Hope i don't sound like a moron lol.. But here goes.

Im a 2010 high school graduate, still not in college (cant afford it :/) and i really have a passion for science. I am always trying to watch youtube videos to learn but the information i get just isn't useful. It doesn't stay in my head. I forget about it completely the next day..
Anyways, after reading i have seen information about watching not being the same as reading, when you read something it is better remembered... I completely believe this is true.. Sorry if I am ranting lol. My question is if i were to want to learn about things such as quantum physics and general relativity, what books should i get?? I understand i will need a number of books, math included, but could someone help me out with what books i need? Sorry if I am sounding like a moron, but i believe i have the passion to learn anything, no matter how hard, if i believe i will acheive...