Neutrino Detection: Theories & Improvements

In summary: Do you know if Jenkins and Fischbach have published anything in peer-reviewed journals that would back up their claims? Jenkins and Fischbach have not published any studies that support their claims about solar neutrinos affecting nuclear decay rates on Earth.
JustinHolmik
Disclaimer: I am a novice.

I am wondering if anyone knows if there has been any improvement in detecting any of the three types of neutrinos? I would also be interested in hearing any theories as how we can improve detection? I guess, since I did my research I'm more interested in picking people's brains on their theories.

From my research and articles I read the last best known way to detect neutrinos was using Cherenkov's detectors and Scintillation using large pools of water deep underground. A neutrino would "effect" an electron and cause it to scatter with specific properties (elastic scattering)( reates light when scattering happens in water.) Arthur McDonald and Takaaki Kajita won a Nobel Prize in 2015 using this method. They proved neutrino "oscillation" (neutrinos changing types (one of three) and that neutrinos have, indeed, mass.

I read a post on this forum back in 2011 that linked to an article for a new type of detector(s) that were built in 2011. And that's all she wrote. The article regarding neutrino detection published in 2011: http://physicsworld.com/cws/article/46885

I found a list of present and future experiments involving neutrino detection here:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_neutrino_experiments
Most of the experiments listed involve the aforementioned detection methods.

Since we observe neutrinos via electron scattering I am curious if there is any reaction when neutrinos pass through a heavy element like uranium?

Thank you for any theories offered.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
The link is dead, but it probably went to this article.