Need to decide: Math or Physics

• Thread starter blaughli
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the student is currently studying physics but is considering switching to a math degree and incorporating computer science. They are interested in the life sciences and see the importance of probability and statistics in research. They are also debating between the theoretical and computational branches of these fields and are seeking advice from experienced individuals. Ultimately, the student is interested in finding a job that combines their interests in life sciences, computing, and the ocean.
blaughli
I just finished my first semester in an MS program in Physics. I have no physics background, so I'm taking upper division undergrad courses. I took Analytical Mechanics, Theoretical Physics, Physical Chemistry, and Probability. I took PChem because of my interest in the life sciences and eventually using physics to head in that direction. I took Probability because I interned last summer on a research project and realized that Probability and Statistics are immensely important in research (data analysis,...).