Need Guidance : Picking a Concentration

In summary, the conversation discusses the dilemma of choosing between two concentrations in electrical engineering, namely communications and computers. The individual expresses interest in both but is concerned about job opportunities and how the two concentrations play a role in industry. It is emphasized that the decision should ultimately be based on personal interests and career goals, with potential overlap between computer and electrical engineering in the workplace.
MtPiNoY
Hello all!

I am a 3rd year Electrical Engineer, and it's almost time for me to select which concentration I want to go under. Ideally, I would like to concentrate in both Communications and Computers, but for some reason my university only allows me one.

I can't seem to decide between the two, though I am leaning more towards the Digital/Computers side. The problem is, I am worried that when I get into industry, a company would rather select a Computer Engineer over an Electrical Engineer when it comes to this field. The Computer Engineer program here pretty much has classes from both the electrical engineering side and computer science side--while I will only have the classes that my technical electives will take me.

I would very much appreciate anybody who could point me in the right direction, or even better, shed some light on how computer & (digital) electrical engineers play their roles in industry. Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org