My E&M textbook claims that fields are a form of matter

In summary: They are as real as any other physical quantity in the theory. That is, they are as real as particles, energy, or momentum. In fact, particles themselves are nothing but excitations of the corresponding field.So, to answer your question, yes, the statement that fields are a form of matter may seem at odds with the traditional view of fields as mathematical tools. But in the modern view of quantum field theory, fields are as real as any other physical quantity.
jack476
I'm studying out of Classical Electrodynamics by Ohanian and in chapter 2 (Electrostatics) he makes the following claim while discussing the electric field:

As we will see later, fields have energy. They therefore are a form of matter, and they can be regarded as the fifth state of matter (solid, liquid, gas, and plasma are the other four states of matter).

I'm a little confused by this, and I can't seem to find any sources that share this view. I'm even more confused because in the preceding paragraph he says:

The electric field is a useful concept because it let's us think of electric effects as being due to local action, or action-by-contact. This means that we can think of the force on a charge as being due to the altered state of space surrounding the the charge, not as due to action-at-a-distance of the other charge.