MIT Grades, NASA & Your Future

In summary: I'm a sophmoreIn summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's concerns about their future and their desires to attend a good college to study math or physics. They mention a 'C+' grade in a difficult class and their worries about how it will affect their chances of getting into MIT. They also ask about becoming an astronaut and the difficulty of the selection process. The other person in the conversation shares their own experience with applying to MIT and offers advice on the selection process. They also mention the importance of high school grades and standardized test scores in the admissions process. The conversation ends with the suggestion to focus on finding a school that suits the speaker and to not solely focus on the MIT brand.
Fuz
Hello guys, I have a few Q's

So I'm a sophomore in high school and I'm seriously thinking about my future, just like I have been for the past 4 years. I really want to get into a good college to study math or physics. My problem is that I got a 'C+' in my Honors US History class. I hate to give an excuse but my teacher is basically impossible. I talked to my counselor and he told me that students complain to him about my teacher, and he says that on recommendations he writes that a C is a good grade in his class and he's the hardest teacher in the school.

I'm kinda stressed out about this because I was thinking about, perhaps, applying to MIT. I get mostly A's, play lacrosse and am on the swim team. Will MIT just throw out the App?... Just afraid the C will destroy my script and chances with getting into a good college.

Just a few more questions. I'm pretty much really wanting to be an astronaut nowadays. Does NASA look at my high school grades? What field (physics, math, engineering) and degree (bachelor's, masters, phd) would give me a good chance at becoming an astronaut. Will there even be a demand for astronauts? Is the Air Force a good option?