Melting Ice Exam Help: Get Verified Answers for Last Year's Questions - Sarah

In summary, Sarah is studying for an exam and is unsure whether she is getting the questions right. She asks other students if they can verify the answers to some of the questions.
sarahisme
Hi all, i am currently studying for an exam, and so i am going over the questions in last years exam. Unfortunately we were not given the answers, so i am not sure whether i am getting the questions right.
If its not too much trouble, and someone has a bit of time to spare, could they verify the answers to some of the questions i put up?

Thanks
Sarah

my first question is this:
http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/6000/picture900gz.th.png
my answers are:
(a) 0.063kg of ice melt
(b) 4 moles
(c) 14940 J
(d) 83.1 J/K

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Chemistry is not my thing. I get a different answer for the first one but I don't know if my method is right. Perhaps you see something in it though.

I figured that 0.5kg of 600K lead has 38.4kJ of heat. The freezing of the lead removes 12.4kJ or so, which leaves 26kJ. Melting ice requires 334.5kJ/kg, so that gives me 0.078kg. Take from it what you will.

vertigo said:
Chemistry is not my thing. I get a different answer for the first one but I don't know if my method is right. Perhaps you see something in it though.
I figured that 0.5kg of 600K lead has 38.4kJ of heat. The freezing of the lead removes 12.4kJ or so, which leaves 26kJ. Melting ice requires 334.5kJ/kg, so that gives me 0.078kg. Take from it what you will.
this isn't meant to be chemistry, lol, it is a physics course, though i spose this is a very 'chemistry' part of it.

yeah i think my answer for (a) might be wrong.

how did you come up with :
"I figured that 0.5kg of 600K lead has 38.4kJ of heat"

i guess you did it by using q = mc(delta T)

where delta T = 600 K

so we use absolute zero then, hmm interesting! :)

your method makes a lot of sense :D

Last edited: