Mathematician learning physics - hello!

• Thread starter dford
  • Start date
In summary, mathematics and physics have a close relationship, with mathematics being the language of physics. A mathematician approaches learning physics by using their analytical and problem-solving skills, but may face challenges in applying their knowledge to real-world scenarios. Learning physics can benefit a mathematician by deepening their understanding of mathematical principles and opening up new career opportunities. To successfully learn physics, it is important to focus on building a strong foundation, practicing application, and seeking additional resources.
dford
How did you find PF?
Found it on Google when looking for support learning physics.
Hello! I'm a mathematician specializing in hyperbolic dynamical systems and smooth ergodic theory. I decided this year that I wanted to learn physics as well to get a better intuition behind the applications/interpretations of my work and the work of my colleagues. My math background is very strong, but my physics background is almost zero beyond what one learns in calculus. So I'm on a mission to change that. I look forward to learning from this community :)

Likes Arohan, berkeman, fresh_42 and 2 others
Physics news on Phys.org
Noble endeavour! :wink:

:welcome: ##\qquad##!​

##\ ##

Likes dford
Welcome to PF! :smile:

A few tips:

To post math equations, it's best to use the LaTeX engine that PF provides. There is a helpful "LaTeX Guide" link below the Edit window to get you started. Note that you put double-$ delimiters at the start and end of each stand-alone line of LaTeX, and double-# delimiters at the start and end of in-line LaTeX that does not need to be on its own line. Also, if you right-click on a LaTeX equation in a post, you get a pop-up menu to let you view the LaTeX source or view it in other formats.

LaTeX isn't supported in thread titles, so you can use simple text math in titles if you want.