Math Courses for Theoretical Physicist to be (Hopefully)

In summary, the speaker is currently a sophomore majoring in physics and plans to also major in math due to their interest in theoretical physics. They were seeking information about what math subjects are important for a career in this field, and it was suggested that courses on mathematical methods for physicists, PDES, complex analysis, and numerical methods are useful for this career path. A professor with a PhD in string theory even claimed that numerical methods was their most useful course.
apamirRogue
I am currently a sophomore majoring in physics in college. I also plan to major in math because I am very interested in theoretical physics. The math adviser that I spoke to could not give me much information on what math subjects are important for a career path in theoretical physics, so if anyone can shed some light on this it would be much appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
If your school has a graduate course or two on mathematical methods for physicists, those are of course good courses.

Otherwise, the real practical ones (of general use) are PDES, complex analysis and numerical methods. I even had a professor whos phd was in string theory who said his most useful course was numerical methods, so take that as you will.

Related to Math Courses for Theoretical Physicist to be (Hopefully)

1. What math courses are essential for a theoretical physicist?

The most essential math courses for a theoretical physicist include calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, and mathematical analysis. These courses provide the groundwork for advanced mathematical concepts used in theoretical physics.

2. Do I need to have a strong background in math to become a theoretical physicist?