Making a vehicle with regenerative breaking

• Thread starter wisam96
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Vehicle
In summary, the mechanical engineering student is looking for advice on how to make an autonomous vehicle that can regenerate its energy. They are considering using a flywheel or spring to store energy, a micro-controller to control the speed of the vehicle, and a laser beam sensor to stop or propel the vehicle.
wisam96
Background:
So I'm a mechanical engineering student, we are asked to make an autonomous vehicle with regenerative breaking.

Info. about the project:
dimensions of vehicle to be about 25 cm long, 16 cm wide and 8 cm high

should be low weight
should be low cost
should be fast
should carry weight

Competition:
-In the competition day the vehicle will start on top of a ramp, the vehicle must only use gravitational potential energy to move.
-The vehicle must store energy from breaking for at least 1 second at full stop, then release the energy stored to move as far as possible.
- there will be 4 stages and we are allowed to tweak the vehicle between stages

I haven't done a lot of research on everything, but i have some basic ideas of how to tackle this project. But I need some advice on somethings.

REGENERATIVE BREAKING:
since we're not allowed to use batteries to propel the vehicle, I guess the only choices are using a Flywheel or Spring to store energy. From experience which do you think will store more energy or which one is more applicable in this case?

Micro-controller:
I think micro-controller will be extremely helpful because we will need to control the speed the vehicle at all times.
I don't have a lot of experience with micro-controllers, what micro-controller do you recommend for a beginner or what micro-controller is more applicable to use in this case?

Laser Beam sensor: