Machian Relativity: New Theory Glyn Phillips Can't Disprove

• B
  • Thread starter a_potato
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Relativity
In summary, the conversation was about a book called 'Machian Relativity: The New Theory That No Scientist Can Disprove' by Glyn Phillips. The speaker had looked through some pages and believes the author created the theory because they don't understand SR. However, they are not an expert and are looking for someone to explain it to them. Another person then states that the book is not worth discussing as it is considered garbage.
a_potato
Gentlemen, I've stumbled upon a book called 'Machian Relativity: The New Theory That No Scientist Can Disprove' by Glyn Phillips, and was just wondering whether anybody else has come across it and/or understands what this chap is going on about. I had a quick flick through some pages on amazon, and I presume he created this 'theory' as he doesn't really understand SR in the first place. However, I'm not an expert so any relativity buffs want to fill me in I'd be most obliged.

Likes harrylin and avarmaavarma
Physics news on Phys.org
It's total garbage.

We don't do crackpot-debunking here (if we did, there wouldn't be room for anything else) so this thread is closed.

Related to Machian Relativity: New Theory Glyn Phillips Can't Disprove

What is Machian Relativity?

Machian Relativity is a theory proposed by Glyn Phillips that aims to unify the principles of general relativity and quantum mechanics. It is based on the concept that the properties of space and time are defined by the distribution and motion of matter in the universe.

What sets Machian Relativity apart from other theories?

Machian Relativity differs from other theories in that it does not rely on the existence of a fixed background space or absolute time. Instead, it proposes that the properties of space and time are determined by the matter and energy present in the universe.