Looking for simple mechanisim to shift wing camber

• Thread starter pyroartist
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Shift
In summary: LML-25673?xt=srp& inclusionId=10609&cmp=SRP-_-ProductDetailPanel-_-linear-motion-actuatorsIn summary, the author is looking for a way to create a reversible camber on a wing using levers and linkages. He has tried in the past to use sliding rods, but it has not worked well. He is considering using a rack and pinion, but teeth are too difficult to make and gears are heavy. He is also considering using an air cylinder, but this would be cheaper and easier to build.
pyroartist
TL;DR Summary
Something that has the same effect as a rack and pinion but does not involve gear teeth. Maybe made with levers.
I am not very good at visualizing mechanisms and how they work. I just looked at all the mechanisms at http://507movements.com/. This is a fun little website and some of the mechanisms have been animated so you can better see how they function. I am trying to build a sailboat wing with reversible camber for opposite tacks in which I can simply pull a lever or rope to reverse the camber. This would activate some mechanisms at about 15 places (a foot apart) along the main spar and push the semi-rigid double surface wing outward on one side and allow the wing to flatten against the spar on the other side. Then on the opposite tack the positions reverse and the other side of the wing is pushed outward to camber it.

I have tried in the past to use sliding rods and have the wind flatten one side and push the rods over to create the camber but it did not work well.