Likelihood Ratio Statistic & P-value

In summary, the student attempted to solve question 1 of an homework equation, but is having difficulty understanding the procedure.
Verdict

Homework Statement

2127q75.jpg

Homework Equations

So far I have only worked on question 1, as I was not able to solve it.
The likelihood ratio test statistic is defined as follows:
λ = 2 Log(L(theta-hat)/L(theta-hat_0))
Where L is the likelihood function, the product of all the pdfs/pmfs, and theta-hat is the maximum likelikhood estimator, the value of theta that maximizes the likelihood function. Theta-hat_0 is the same, but it is restricted to be in accordance with the H0 hypothesis.

I sincerely apologize for the lack of Latex, I am still learning how to work with it, I hope it didn't make it too vague.

The Attempt at a Solution

Alright, so what I've done so far is define the likelihood function as the product of the two pmfs, and I took theta to consist of p1 and p2, although I'm not sure that is allowed? Should I instead use theta = p1-p2?
L(p1,p2) = [tex]\text{p1}^x \binom{m}{x} (1-\text{p1})^{m-x}[/tex] * [tex]\text{p2}^y \binom{n}{y} (1-\text{p2})^{n-y}[/tex]

Now, finding theta-hat, I just took derivatives with respect to p1 and p2, and set it to zero. It gave me p1 = x / m and p2 = y / n.
I then did the same for theta-hat_0, but I first set p1 = p2 which gave me theta-hat_0 = (x+y) / (m+n)

However, plugging this all into the expression for λ doesn't give me a very pretty expression, which tells me that maybe I'm doing something wrong.

I get λ = [tex]2 \log \left(\left(\frac{x}{m}\right)^x \left(1-\frac{x}{m}\right)^{m-x} \left(\frac{y}{n}\right)^y
\left(1-\frac{y}{n}\right)^{n-y}\right)-2 \log \left(\left(\frac{x+y}{m+n}\right)^{x+y}
\left(1-\frac{x+y}{m+n}\right)^{m+n-x-y}\right)[/tex]