Let f:G -> H be a surjective homomorphism. |C_G(g)| >= |C_H(f(g)|

• Thread starter Esran
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Surjective
In summary, the problem states that given a finite group G and a group H, where θ:G→H is a surjective homomorphism, the number of elements in the centralizer of g in G is greater than or equal to the number of elements in the centralizer of θ(g) in H.
Esran
Let f:G --> H be a surjective homomorphism. |C_G(g)| >= |C_H(f(g)|

Homework Statement

Suppose G is a finite group and H is a group, where θ:G→H is a surjective homomorphism. Let g be in G. Show that |CG(g)| ≥ |CH(θ(g))|.

Homework Equations

This problem has been bugging me for a day now. I'm studying for my qualifying exam and doing very well otherwise. I sure could use some peace of mind though concerning this problem. I tend to obsess over things I can't figure out.

The Attempt at a Solution

Obviously, θ[CG(g)] ≤ CH(θ(g)), so CG(g) is contained in the pullback of CH(θ(g)). Beyond that, I'm stuck and I would greatly appreciate assistance.

Physics news on Phys.org
It wasn't me, but thanks for the link!

Related to Let f:G -> H be a surjective homomorphism. |C_G(g)| >= |C_H(f(g)|

What is a surjective homomorphism?

A surjective homomorphism is a function between two groups, G and H, that preserves the group operation and maps every element in G to an element in H. It is also known as an onto homomorphism, meaning that every element in H has at least one preimage in G.

What does the notation "f:G -> H" mean in this context?

The notation "f:G -> H" indicates that the function f maps elements from the group G to the group H.

What is the significance of the equation |C_G(g)| >= |C_H(f(g)|?

This equation represents a property of surjective homomorphisms known as the "counting theorem." It states that the size of the centralizer of an element g in G is always greater than or equal to the size of the centralizer of its image f(g) in H.