LaTex: Is It Still Relevant for Physics Students?

• LaTeX
  • Thread starter Dopplershift
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Latex
In summary: How often is LaTex still used, and do you think WYSIWYG editors like Microsoft Word has replaced the need to learn LaTex?I use LaTeX for every document I need to make, so yes I think it's useful. Now, when typing a regular (non math) document, then word can do everything LaTeX does, but LaTeX is still prettier. Especially with \usepackage{microtype} in your preamble...
Dopplershift
As a current Physics student, I am wondering if LaTex is still worth learning?

How often is LaTex still used, and do you think WYSIWYG editors like Microsoft Word has replaced the need to learn LaTex?

I appreciate your opinions. Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Everyone uses [itex] \LaTeX [/itex], and the basics are very simple.

LaTeX is probably worth learning even if you are not a physicist, if only for the sake of producing ordered, clean, structured documents. You can achieve any result of Microsoft Word with LaTex (though sometimes it takes creativity and some coding skills), plus there's lots automated functions built in (LaTeX keeps track of numbering and names of chapters, sections, figures, equations, etc. for you, so you can focus on the content of your work and not the layout or referencing). Also, many journals expect you to submit a LaTeX document and usually provide a LaTeX template for you to use.

Likes Zacarias Nason and Dembadon
Thanks for the detailed reply. I will learn LaTex then.

Dopplershift said:
Thanks for the detailed reply. I will learn LaTex then.

Just a warning: After you've learned LaTeX, you'll never go back to Word! :wink:

It's not too hard to learn, incredibly powerful, and it gives, oh, so pretty results. Frankly, I wouldn't use anything else to typset a serious document.