Is Summer School a Good Option for Completing Minor Requirements?

In summary: Thanks for the input everyone!In summary, the summer school pacing is faster and the same amount of material is covered in a shorter amount of time. Taking one of the math classes over the summer will increase retention and prevent burnout.
Brian T
Hey all,
I'm currently an undergrad physics major at UCSD. I'm thinking about taking a few classes over the summer so that my course-load for next year will not be too unbearable (my schedule is already packed).

The courses I plan on taking over the summer are:
(1) PDEs
(2) Complex Analaysis
(3) ~ Maybe a philosophy course

I am trying to taking these classes to get my philosophy / math minor sooner so I can focus on physics.

My question is, how is the pacing of summer school, for those of you who have experienced it? A class during a normal quarter is 10 weeks + finals, whereas a class over summer quarter is 4 or 5 weeks + finals. Would the material be too condensed? I have read the summer syllabus for the math classes and the syllabus for normal quarters; they cover the same amount of material but in a lot less time. I want to have a good understanding of mathematics to prepare me for upper-div physics courses. Will taking these courses over the summer sacrifice some retention of the material covered?

Physics news on Phys.org
I haven't yet taken either of those math classes, but from what I've heard about them I would not want to take even one of them over the summer. Let alone both of them. PDEs has a reputation of being a very difficult class, and complex analysis does as well.

QuantumCurt said:
I haven't yet taken either of those math classes, but from what I've heard about them I would not want to take even one of them over the summer. Let alone both of them. PDEs has a reputation of being a very difficult class, and complex analysis does as well.