Is My Plan for Pursuing a Degree in Computers and Technology Viable?

In summary, Justin is looking to get a degree in physics, computer engineering technology, and/or another technical subject to help him get a good foundation in the field of computers and technology. He is also seeking advice on what to do next after completing his associate's degree. He is interested in a career in physics, engineering, or chemistry, but is concerned about the job market and the stability of these fields.
jhickey
Hello Physics Forums :),
My name is Justin. So I am looking for some honest advice and some direction. I am going to give a run down of myself so that way giving advice will be easier maybe?
I am a veteran on the GI bill if that matters at all. Also being from Texas, when my 36 months of GI bill runs out, I then have the hazelwood act that will pay for my school. Just stating that so people may understand why time for me is not as much of a concern. Basically I am not trying to rush and get out of school in 4 years or less is my point. I am looking to get solid understanding and skills that will hopefully set me up for success later down the road (I guess we all are lol.). I would like to get a bachelors, and from there see if I want to continue on to higher levels.
I am 30 years old. I have no background whatsoever in computers, technology, or formal high levels of math and physics, but will major in something along those lines.
Basically I have come up with a plan and I am posting it here to see if its a good idea, or if I am off base, please feel free to critique, or give me other options, plans, ideas, whatever. And I can take harsh AND negative constructive criticism (I am an infantry soldier :))