Is energy a fundamental physical quantity or a derived one?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of energy and its role in physics. The participants explore whether energy is a fundamental quantity and how it relates to other physical laws and principles. Some argue that energy is more general and applicable than force, while others suggest that symmetry principles are the most fundamental in physics. The conversation also touches on the definition of "fundamental" and its implications for understanding energy. Ultimately, the participants agree that this discussion may not add new insights to physics, but it still offers food for thought and the opportunity to deepen our understanding of the concept of energy.
Mayan Fung
I recall my memory when I was a high school student. I first learned about energy from Newton Mechanics. The only forms of energy involved are kinetic energy and potential energy. At that time, energy is more like a mathematical shortcut derived from F = ma rather than a concrete physical quantity. Conservation of (mechanical) energy is equivalent to Newton's Law of Motion. Intuitively, Newton's Law of Motion looks more "fundamental".

However, when I learned more about physics, it seems that energy is taking over the role. For example, the quantized picture of light, photon, is sometimes described as light carrying a packet of energy. Under the framework of general relativity, mass and energy can cause gravity. In different physical systems, we know that there is a tendency to transit into the lowest energy state.

I feel like that the concept of energy and some fundamental physical laws may be mathematically equivalent. The discussion on whether energy is a fundamental quantity may sound philosophical. But the concept of energy seems to behave homogeneously over different fields and frameworks, even more than the laws themselves (e.g. the well-known conflicts between GR and QM).