Is a Math/CS Background Suitable for Graduate Studies in Photonics?

In summary: It is more important to have a good foundation. In summary, it would be doable for someone with a degree in mathematics/computer science to go into a photonics graduate program, but they would need to make sure they have a good understanding of physics and be able to take courses in electrical engineering that are geared towards photonics.
NetMage
Hello, I have a pretty quick question. So, I am studying mathematics/computer science, double major. However, I think I want to go to graduate school for photonics. With a degree in math/cs, will this be possible to apply into a graduate photonics program? I am also minoring in physics if that is any consolation.

Science news on Phys.org

I think that is doable. There is a lot of work to do in optics, electromagnetics and photonics involving computions. Mathematics and computer science would be a good base to get involved with signal processing or simulation side of things. You would want to make sure to beef up your physics. Make sure you try to take the undergraduate courses regarding photonics. Not just in the physics department but the electrical engineering department may have a class or two that would be worthwhile. In simulations, a lot of the work is based around programming and math. However, the programming is usually simple in structure and you need a good understanding of the physics to develop new algorithms and implement them properly.

Thank you so much! I have a really big interest in the development of photonic based software systems. Thats kind of what I want to start developing. If I have a few EE classes geared toward photonics that will help my resume? Also, I have never taken an EE class, so do you think I will have to take many EE classes before I am able to take a photonics related class?