Is a Double Major Worth It for Physics Grad School and Job Applications?

In summary: If you are only planning on going to physics grad school, then you need to do whatever is needed to do well in physics. :smile: I believe doing poorly on the PGRE and not getting research experience will hurt you more than having a double major will help you.
PCSL
Hello, I recently decided that I will not complete my major in math despite only being two classes shorts so that I can focus more on the PGRE and research during those semesters. If I plan on going on to grad school will this decision hurt me in any way? Down the road will being able to say that I majored in PHY and MTH be of any advantage or will most employers just look at your grad degree? Thanks - I'd normally just suck it up and take the two classes but I feel as if Real Analysis and Modern Algebra would be two very time consuming classes, however I'm not close-minded to the option.

Physics news on Phys.org
PCSL said:
Hello, I recently decided that I will not complete my major in math despite only being two classes shorts so that I can focus more on the PGRE and research during those semesters. If I plan on going on to grad school will this decision hurt me in any way? Down the road will being able to say that I majored in PHY and MTH be of any advantage or will most employers just look at your grad degree? Thanks - I'd normally just suck it up and take the two classes but I feel as if Real Analysis and Modern Algebra would be two very time consuming classes, however I'm not close-minded to the option.

It is likely to hurt you should you decide to apply to mathematics graduate programs.

Dembadon said:
It is likely to hurt you should you decide to apply to mathematics graduate programs.

Haha, I would imagine so - I will be applying to physics graduate school. Should I take that as it will not effect me in my scenario?

PCSL said: