Im not too clever, but faster than light?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of transmitting information faster than the speed of light using a perfectly rigid material, such as an imaginary rod, to send a signal. However, this is not possible as the atoms and electrons in the material cannot interact any faster than the speed of light, and a perfectly rigid material is not possible in reality. The discussion also touches on the concepts of time dilation and length contraction in relation to this scenario.
invalid name
im not too clever, but "faster than light?"

Hi,

I have no real background in physics, but got to thinking of something.

--------------------------------------------

Let’s say light travels at around 670,616,629.384 miles per hour

Then let's say I have a imaginary rod 134123326 miles long (double the number above) (size must be bigger than the distant lights travels in a given time).

This rod is not affected by heat (no shrinking of expanding) and is straight, no bending takes place.

----------------------------------------------

If I also set up a electrical circuit at the other end, with rod acting a switch. (Electric is not transferred via the rod)

a race take place between two people, sending information from the same point, here at one side of the rod to the other side of the rod, 134123326 mile away

The first person uses radio waves the second Morse code.

The message is "hello", Morse code "... . .-.. .-.. ---"

----------------------------------------------

Now here is what I was thinking.

The radio waves are sent and travel at 670,616,629.384 miles / hour. Taking two hours to reach the end point.

But if the Morse coder could type out the message, complete / cutting the circuit at the other end, by pulling on the rod. Would the information travel instantly?

Physics news on Phys.org