I Have a Hypothesis and No Degree

• Thread starter WCOLtd
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Degree
In summary: Thirdly, one could try to get a grant from a foundation that supports research in one's area of expertise. This is not an easy task, but it is possible.It is NEVER a good idea to use Einstein as an example. That is like planning one's life simply based on the exceptional and the extraordinary (win any lottery lately?).Secondly, unless one has never been to college (and if one hasn't, how would one even know one has the proper knowledge to tackle a topic like this?), surely there is an old physics professor that one can contact and politely ask if he/she is willing to give a first look at what one has produced
WCOLtd
I have a hypothesis regarding a confusion in people's understanding of Mach's Principle and I'd like to submit this hypothesis for peer review. This hypothesis is complete, I have a testable prediction. How would I go about doing that?

Physics news on Phys.org
You don't really submit an hypothesis alone for peer review. You submit a complete body of scientific work. It may be incremental in what it accomplishes, but it has to contain a full application of the scientific method and draw appropriate conclusions from that. A hypothesis alone is generally not enough to meet the standards of most peer reviewers.

Choppy said:
You don't really submit an hypothesis alone for peer review. You submit a complete body of scientific work. It may be incremental in what it accomplishes, but it has to contain a full application of the scientific method and draw appropriate conclusions from that. A hypothesis alone is generally not enough to meet the standards of most peer reviewers.

What constitutes a "complete body of scientific work"? Having a testable prediction isn't enough? What more is needed?

Full application of the scientific method... Let's see...
Guess - check
Compute consequences - check
Compare to experiment - need peer review for that