I have 10 months till graduate school, whats the best way to prepare?

In summary, it sounds like you should focus on reviewing undergraduate material and studying current research papers from Arxiv.
alemsalem
i have 10 months till graduate school, what's the best way to prepare??

I graduated about one & a half years ago(physics), and I'm going to graduate school September next year(HEP/Cosmology), i have holes in my undergraduate knowledge in addition to what's lost in memory.

I don't know what would be better: a thorough review of undergraduate physics and mathematics or studying the five core subjects from graduate texts (I already began with that, but stopped to prepare for the GRE).

Thnx.

Salem Olimat

Physics news on Phys.org

I returned to graduate school after a much longer hiatus than you are talking about. I found that doing problems from the graduate level texts was the best way to prepare. Since this gets boring after a while, I would also spend time each day reading current papers from Arxiv (http://arxiv.org/). While many are difficult to follow, they get your brain working along the right lines, and help bring you up to speed on current research areas, vocabulary, etc. Are you already accepted to a program? Do you mean that you start in Sept, 2011? That's a bit more than 10 months...

alemsalem said:
i have 10 months till graduate school, what's the best way to prepare? ... and I'm going to graduate school September next year(HEP/Cosmology)

I'd say reviewing your math, or maybe studying the latest calenders, should be your first priority. Next September is 12 months away, not 10. :smile: Well, no worries, absentmindedness is a hallmark of the stereotypical physicist.

Kidding aside, it sounds like you have good strategies in place. The main thing is to keep your mind actively involved in any physics and math related study. And GRE preparation is a good idea if you think you can significantly improve your scores.