How to Improve Physics/Math Understanding as an Undergraduate?

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore Physics and Math major with a high GPA, but they feel like they are not truly learning the material. They are worried about struggling in upper level courses and want to know if there is an efficient way to increase their understanding of the material outside of class. They also ask for recommendations on how to learn programming. The conversation includes suggestions to read proof books and practice programming, as well as reassurance that the speaker is doing well grade-wise. They also ask for advice on studying abroad and planning a difficult course load.
ADCooper
Hello, everyone! I'm a sophomore Physics and Math major from Temple University. Currently my GPA is 3.91 and I'm currently in Differential Equations, multivariable calculus, and Physics 2 (introductory E&M type of class basically). My problem is that, although I've been doing great grade-wise in all of my classes, I feel like I'm not truly learning the material. I can do all the computations and such without any problem really, but the proofs and underlying concepts seem to go right over my head. I feel like this is going to cause me a ton of trouble after this semester when I get to the upper level courses (advanced calculus, classical mechanics, etc) and I want to lessen that trouble if I can in some way. Is there any efficient way to increase my understanding of the material outside of class? I want to eventually land an REU and go to graduate school, and I'm not sure if I'll be able to do either without really understanding everything I'm learning in these fundamental courses.