How to get into the semiconductor industry

In summary, the conversation discusses the individual's background as a Brazilian Electronics Engineering undergrad student and first-year Masters student in Atomic and Molecular Physics. Their main interest is to work in the semiconductor industry, but they are concerned about their lack of laboratory experience and whether employers will provide necessary training. They also mention using software such as VASP, SPICE, and MATLAB for their projects and potential options for gaining access to an IC fab. The conversation ends with the recommendation to consider a PhD program and the challenges of securing employment in the US without prior experience or authorization to work.
Fernando Valadares
Hi friends,

I'm a brazilian Electronics Engineering undergrad student, going to graduate in 3 semesters. I'm also in the first semester of my Masters in Atomic and Molecular Physics, focused on ab initio simulation of semiconductor crystals (VASP).

My main interest is to work in industry in the field of semiconductors, CMOS technologies, and quantum technologies in general (and preferably in Europe). But as my research is on computational physics, I feel that the lack of laboratory experience will drag me down or even make me ineligible for such positions.

Is laboratory experience needed before joining the workforce, or will employers give me the necessary training? How hard is to get into this area? Is computational physics valuable in the industry?

Thank you all :) any advice/story is welcome

Physics news on Phys.org
Fernando Valadares said:
Is laboratory experience needed before joining the workforce
@analogdesign can add to the responses :smile:

Does your school have a basic IC fab as part of its lab facilities? If not, is there an IC fab nearby that you have access to for projects?

What simulation software (other than VASP) have you learned and used for your projects in school?

https://www.vasp.at/