What types of jobs are available for chemical engineers in the tech industry?

In summary: See what they do and send in an application whether you see a job or not maybe something will appear.
spectastic
this is a bit unusual place to put this, but I currently work in the oil/gas industry. it's good experience thus far (almost 2 years), but i can't see myself doing this for much longer. I've always wanted to do research, and in fact dedicated most of my undergrad doing this, and was planning to go back to school, but it didn't work out due to funding issues and I guess a combination of bad luck and a so-so application profile. My area of interest is in polymers, and I'd like to put my foot in the door for the tech industry, just to try something new. I've considered photovoltaics and organic semiconductors, but I don't believe those technologies will really take off in the next several years. Considering that my interest is in polymers, I guess I can't really get too far away from oil/gas because almost all rubber/plastics are derived from refined petro.

I guess my desire is to work in an industry that's more relevant , and has a greater, more direct impact to consumer needs. My understanding is that the work environment for these types of jobs are more relaxed and innovative. People won't be working with 50 years old equipment or coming up with ways to run a unit with a crippled leg like we're doing right now, just to be able to meet the production goals. There's less focus on bottomline, and more focus on creative problem solving (which I enjoy very much)

My problem is that I don't have a clue what types of jobs are out there in the tech industry for chemical engineers. I've done job searches, but some insight would be much more helpful.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Have you looked at DuPont or Dow chemical? They are major players in the chemical industry.

http://www.dupont.com/corporate-functions/careers/career-paths/articles/engineering.html