How to calculate the monthly interest rate?

In summary, the author is trying to find the monthly interest rate given the loan amount, number of monthly payments, and monthly payment. They are using a continuous compounding approximation and Newton's Method.
h1a8
Homework Statement
Given the monthly payment A, loan amount P, and the number of months to payoff loan n, calculate the monthly interest rate i.
Relevant Equations
A = [Pi(1+i)^n] /[(1+i)^n-1]
First, I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post this question. It's not a homework problem or any assignment. Just doing this as an exercise. Ill just post it here just in case.

I’m trying to write a c++ program to calculate the monthly interest rate 'i' given the loan amount 'P' , number of monthly payments to payoff loan 'n' , and monthly payment 'A'. My background is a BA in mathematics.

Im familiar with the amortization formula
1) A = [Pi(1+i)^n] /[(1+i)^n-1]
I rearrange
->2) A/P = [i(1+i)^n] /[(1+i)^n-1]
Let c = A/P
->3) c = [i(1+i)^n] /[(1+i)^n-1]
->4) c(1+i)^n-c= i(1+i)^n
->5) c = c(1+i)^n-i(1+i)^n
->6) c = [(1+i)^n] (c-i)

I just don’t see an elementary way to solve for the rate i. Maybe some numerical technique? Taylor series perhaps?

I attempted 2nd degree Taylor series centered at 0, but the accuracy wasn't good enough. In higher order polynomials wasn't able to solve without computer software.

I Haven't tried Newton's method yet though.

So the question is what method(s) can I use to accurately get the rate i, given A, n, and P, so that I can apply it to a c++ program (or just in general)? And what algorithm do typical financial calculators use?

Physics news on Phys.org
Use Newton's method to solve Eqn. 3.

Chestermiller said:
Use Newton's method to solve Eqn. 3.