How to acquire the math skills I need

• Thread starter s_ngularity
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Skills
In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate physics major interested in pursuing a PhD in astronomy or astrophysics. However, they feel that their university is not providing enough preparation in mathematics, as they are only required to take single and multivariable calculus and one math methods class. They are unsure if they should self-study upper level math or take extra courses, but want to avoid extending their degree. They are seeking advice on how to prepare for theoretical astrophysics and GR, and suggest reaching out to a professor in the field for guidance.
s_ngularity
Hello, I am currently an undergrad physics major at a US university, and I am planning on going to grad school to get my phd in astronomy or astrophysics. However, I am very interested in theoretical astrophysics and GR and the like, but I feel as though my university doesn't give us as much preparation in mathematics as I would hope for, as we are only required to take single and multivariable calculus, and a "math methods" class using "Mathematical Methods in the Physical Sciences" by Boas. I therefore am uncertain whether I should try to self-study some upper level math classes, or take extra courses or what. I would really like to avoid adding extra time onto my degree, so that makes my dilemma a bit more difficult. Any advice would be great.

Physics news on Phys.org
From what I've read on other similar questions to this is if you want to do theoretical physics definitely fit in a lot of math classes as general electives etc. if it isn't already included in the program (I can't give you specific classes to take hopefully someone else can clarify). If there is a professor at the school in the field you are interested in I'd highly recommend reaching out to him/her with this same question.

Related to How to acquire the math skills I need

1. How can I improve my math skills?