How much to top physics grad programs care about gpa

In summary, the speaker is currently in their 2nd year of undergrad studying physics and electrical engineering at UCSB. They have a cumulative GPA of 3.2 and are wondering about their chances of getting into a top physics grad program if they can raise their GPA to 3.5-3.6 by the time they graduate. They acknowledge that other factors such as research experience and letters of recommendation also play a role, but they are curious about how much their GPA will impact their chances. The respondent, a senior in undergrad, believes that with strong research experience and letters of recommendation, a GPA of 3.6 should not significantly hinder their chances, especially if they perform well in upper level courses.
Thomas Brady
Pretty broad question, but to be more specific, in my case I'm currently in my 2nd year of undergrad going for physics and electrical engineering at ucsb. I didnt perform too well up until now with a cumulative of 3.2, so if i were to raise my gpa up to around 3.5-3.6 by the time i graduate what would be my chances at getting into one of the top physics grad programs? I am aware that many other factors come in particularly research experience and letters of rec, but assuming strong research experience and letters of rec how much will my gpa hurt my chances?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm only a senior in undergrad, but if you have very strong research experience and letters of recommendation, I don't see why a 3.6 would hurt too much, especially if you got good grades in your upper level courses.

Related to How much to top physics grad programs care about gpa

1. How important is GPA for getting into a top physics grad program?