How Do You Use Einstein Summation to Prove Vector Calculus Identities?

In summary, the identity states that the curl of a vector field multiplied by a scalar function is equal to the cross product of the gradient of the function and the vector field, plus the scalar function multiplied by the curl of the vector field. This can be proven using Einstein summation notation by applying the product rule and using the permutation identity for permutations differing by 2 indices. A good resource for practicing this notation is a book with many examples.
mmpstudent
prove the identity $$\nabla\times(f\cdot\vec{v})=(\nabla f) \times \vec{v} + f \cdot \nabla \times \vec{v}$$

I can do the proof with normal vector calculus, but I am in a tensor intensive course and would like to do this with
einstein summation notation, but am having some trouble since I am brand new to this.

my attempt

left side

[tex] \epsilon_{ijk} \partial_{j} (\nabla f \cdot \vec{v})_{k}=\epsilon_{ijk}\partial_{j} f \vec{v}_{k} [/tex]

I didn't really know where to go from here so I moved onto the right side and expressed it in einstein notation

[tex]\epsilon_{ijk} (\nabla f)_{j} v_{k} + f \epsilon_{ijk} \partial_{j} v_{k} [/tex]

[tex]\epsilon_{ijk} \partial_{j} f v_{k} + f \epsilon_{ijk} \partial_{j} v_{k} [/tex]

which I don't see how I can rearrange this to get what is on the left. I see how it could be twice what I have on the left, but that obviously is incorrect. Did I do something wrong in expressing these? Do I have to express the right side with different sets of indicees?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
How did you go from the second last line to the last line?

I just realized I forgot an f in that line

If you include the f, haven't you answered your own question?

George Jones said:
If you include the f, haven't you answered your own question?