How do we know Inflation begin in 10^-35 second?

• Thread starter Quarlep
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Inflation
In summary, the concept of inflation in the early universe is still not fully understood and its existence is not a confirmed fact. The specific time of 10^-35 seconds is a guess and there are other slightly different estimates for the start and end of the inflation period. However, it is generally agreed that inflation ended when the universe was about 10^-32 seconds old. These estimates are based on phase transitions in the early universe and coincide with the separation of different forces.
Quarlep
I am a high school student and I was searching the inflation theory.When I searched I found that inflation starts a certain time (10-35) how physicists know that 10-35 is the "true" or"right" time ?

Space news on Phys.org
Quarlep said:
I am a high school student and I was searching the inflation theory.When I searched I found that inflation starts a certain time (10-35) how physicists know that 10-35 is the "true" or"right" time ?
We don't even know for sure that inflation happened. It probably did and it certainly solves some otherwise difficult problems in cosmology, but its occurrence is not known for a fact. How the figure of 10^-35 was arrived at I don't know, and I have seen slightly different figures for both the start and the end of the period, although all agree that it was very brief.

Quarlep said:
This is basically a guess. Within inflation, it is unclear when inflation started or how long it lasts, as inflation wipes out almost all evidence of anything that came before.