How Can I Improve My Spark Gap Switch for High-Speed Photography?

In summary: The capacitor is only there as a trigger, it doesn't actually do anything with the photo other than store the energy.In summary, Desmond is an auto electrician who has invented a new form of photography which he calls 'superspeed photography'. His early attempts involved a water balloon being burst by a needle pushed into it by a solenoid in series with the flash capacitor, but he has since developed a spark-gap switch which he claims is more reliable. Tonight, he tried a different version of the switch which he hopes will be more successful. He has also put light bulbs in series with it to reduce the noise of the fuses blowing in his garage. Any advice on perfecting his design for reliable switching would be appreciated.
DesmondD
Hi everyone , this is my first post here :) . I am an auto electrician , my hobby is photography. I am interested in high speed photography and have invented a new form of photography in a way . I call it 'superspeed photography' . It involves taking a picture of something that is triggered by the act of taking the picture .
My early attempt involved a water balloon being burst by a needle pushed into it by a solenoid in series with the flash capacitor ...
aaaDSC_0439.jpg

Now I am busy building a spark-gap switch or 'trigatron' as I am told it is called .
It is proving difficult to get reliability . With the first design I drilled a hole in the conductor and ran an insulated wire down the middle so that when I take a picture my camera flash triggers a 40 000 volt spark down the centre of the contacts and causes the 320 volt capacitor to jump the gap through the ionized air .

zDSCF0009.jpg

It blew a 10 amp and a 20 amp fuse on two of my attempts ...

aDSCF0023.jpg

a 40 amp fuse caused the electrode tip to blow off rather and it is proving difficult to get a reliable switch each time .