How Can Engineering Students Gain Practical Skills on a Budget?

In summary, a placement with an engineering company would be a good opportunity to gain practical experience, but it is important to be prepared for the lack of experience on your CV. Little things, like having some experience with hand tools or being interested in RC planes, can help you stand out.
dan_davey
Hi,

I'm currently a second year mechanical engineering student. As part of my course, there is an opportunity to go on a year long placement to an engineering company next year. I have to start applying to companies now, so began to brush up my CV. The problem is, I have next to no practical engineering skills. I really want to get a good placement, so feel I should do something about this.
Is there something interesting but at the same time cheap (I am a student!) that I could do to help this.

I realize that this is quite a broad question but any advice would be appreciated,

Thanks
Dan

Engineering news on Phys.org
Maybe if you can get a student job at some company that would help you out a bit :)

maybe work with local boy scouts to help construct rope bridges and other scout structures...?

An internship at a company would give you some info on what you should learn. In my experience, programming/coding is something that's always valuable in engineering. There's usually a task there that coding would really streamline.