How can a newly graduated mechanical engineer find job opportunities?

It's not bad, it's just not practical.In summary, the conversation discussed strategies for finding a job after graduation, including talking to advisors, utilizing on-campus interviews, applying to multiple companies, networking, and including hobbies on a resume. They also discussed reaching out to contacts in the industry, such as the uncle who works at Boeing, and the potential benefits and drawbacks of having a master's degree in engineering.
member 428835
Hey PF!

I am a masters student in mechanical engineering, and I am doing really well. However, once I finish my thesis and graduate, what is the typical way to find a job. Are you head hunted or will I send out resumes? Should I talk with my advisers?

My uncle works with Boeing and has given me some contact information with engineers; I spoke with one about 9 months ago but after a few emails we haven't talked. I was planning on waiting until I came closer to graduation.

How did you get employed after graduating?

Thanks!

Josh

Physics news on Phys.org
You should've continued talking with him and should drop him a line. So many students just wait until two weeks before graduation when they should have started lining up stuff 9 months earlier.

Yes, talk to your advisors, talk to your school outplacement people, sign up for some on campus interviews, prepare your resume then target it to each job you apply to highlighting what they are looking for and what you can do to solve their problems. The on campus interview can give you practice in the kinds of questions that will be asked in private interviews which are a mixture of what you know (how would you solve some real world problem) what salary you're interested in, why are there gaps in your resume if any. You need to be prepared with good answers.

If this is your last year you are starting way too late. that being said, better late than never.