Hi, my first time and I need advice on Calculus

In summary, the conversation involves a freshman in university struggling with challenging assignments in their calculus class due to a language barrier with their professor. They seek advice on how to approach these difficult questions and mention their parents' views on spending money on tutoring. Other participants in the conversation suggest seeking tutoring services on campus or online, as well as utilizing resources provided by the university or department. The freshman also mentions attending a community college and planning to transfer to a university in the future.
gretun
I do not know if works the same everywhere, but as a freshman in university I am really new to this.

My professor gives us assignments, even-numbered assignments, on our homework. Now being the youngest person in my class and not knowing anyone is a disadvantage. Because those assignments my prof gives us are challenging (or really poorly worded...) from Stewart's Calculus books. Unfortunately I cannot ask my prof for help sometimes because he has a very strong german accent and I have a very difficult time trying to understand half of what he says.

So I am just wondering, how do you guys do those difficult assignment questions that is not in solution manuals? Because sometimes I just stared at them blankly and we get quizzes on them. My last quiz (out of 10), I got a 4...

Physics news on Phys.org
Generally there will be a question similar to the ones not in the solutions. Try those ones first and try to figure out how they got the answer that they did. Then just apply the same technique to the questions that don't have solutions in the back. You can also use wolfram alpha if you want to check your results, but don't rely on it to actually do the work for you. What area in particular are you having trouble with?

Ben1220 said: