Help with a MOSFET exercise - Id and Rout

In summary: Your Name]In summary, the student is struggling with an exercise in analog circuits and is asking for help calculating voltage gain and output resistance. They have two questions about the calculation of output resistance and are confused about the role of the channel-length modulation parameter (λ) and the coupling capacitor (C3). The expert explains that λ is typically a small value and does not necessarily mean that output resistance is infinite, and clarifies the equations for Id and Ugs. The expert also notes that C3 may affect the value of Id, but is not directly related to Rout. They offer encouragement and advice for the student to keep practicing and understanding the concepts.
knightmetal

Homework Statement

I must admit I'm a noob when it comes to Analog Circuits, I need help! it actually took me a while to understand what the problem is and how to explain it to you guys.

I'm given the attached exercise and I'm asked to calculate voltage gain and output resistance, both with written computations and with a simulation of the circuit in MicroCap. The purpose is basically to compare the values and discuss possible discrepancies.

I have two questions about the calculation of output resistance. It seems like an easy task but I think the consultation I had not long ago with my teacher confused me even more.

2. Homework Equations and The attempt at a solution

I found this equation:

Code:
  Rout = 1 / (λ * Kp (Ugs - Ut)^2) = 1 / (lambda * Id)

I also found that when W and L are given

Code:
 Id = 1/2 * Kp * W / L * (Ugs - Uth)^2

My first confusion and question is that if λ = 0, as you can see in the picture, it automatically means that Rout goes off to infinity, but why would my teacher give me such an exercise to compute?