Help? I dont know if I can make it to grad school with my gpa?

In summary: GPA may not be as important as you think. However, if you cannot show that you will be able to complete the rigorous graduate program, your undergraduate GPA will be a bigger factor in your admission decision.
merry
Hello,

I am currently in my third year of Mathematical Physics. I was in biology in my first year and in Engineering physics in my second year. I knew my interest was in physics but tried the former just to please my parents. Upon getting into a depression in my second year due to lack of interest or care for engineering, I switched into the third year of Mathematical Physics. I completed all the pre-reqs during the summer, so its not like I am missing out on anything.
The problem is that, my cumulative gpa from my first two years (Taking into account the physics and math courses that will count for credit) is only 3.5 on a 4.0 scale. I just finished my first semester of third year, and I am getting just an average gpa (3.3-3.4). I am very concerned at this point. I was really hoping to raise my gpa this year. I spent a lot of time trying to keep up with the assignments and did not pay as much attention to learning the theory in depth. I was wondering what kind of a gpa is required to do grad school in quantum physics in a local university. Also, will my undergrad gpa affect my ability to get a job in Academia in the future? What should I focus on to improve my gpa and my chances to get into grad school? I am very depressed and cannot focus anymore because I am very scared of ending up not getting into grad school (and/or not being able to do research). I really want to do this. I will put any effort required. Please help physics forum friends =[ I appreciate any and all advice from you.

Physics news on Phys.org