Has anyone changed themselves during undergrad?

• Thread starter Perpetuo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Undergrad
In summary: You need to find an organization or class that will help you study in a way that is meaningful to you.In summary, the student's problem is that he cannot focus and learn. He has tried different methods but they always fail. He has a passion for physics but cannot seem to translate it into grades. He needs to find an organization or class that will help him learn in a way that is meaningful to him.
Perpetuo
I am a sophomore in my undergraduate studies aiming to go to grad school. My journey so far has proven difficult as I essentially make straight B's in all math and physics courses with a few A's in random general education classes.

I feel as if I love part of physics, mainly its impact on society and the profound understanding it has provided to humans, but I can't seem to translate this love into school.

In the past two years I have been reading books and using introspective thought as to what allows a person to be a successful, high-gpa student. I know what I need to do but through some way I always fail to implement my action plan.

I skip lectures, I take shortcuts on homework to get it done without truly understanding it, I cannot pay attention in lectures even when well rested, nourished, and otherwise satiated, I stay up way too late, and my only attempts to understand the material occur 0-3 days before any exam. I realize when I do these things as I do them, but even when I fix them for a day, a week, or two, I always slip back into my terrible ways.