Grad School Application: Assessing My Chances

In summary, I am applying for grad school in the fall and I need some opinions about my chances, where I should good, etc.
godzillabill
I'm applying for grad school in the fall and I need some opinions about my chances, where I should good, etc.

I am majoring in math, with a minor in physics. I went to a community college then a UC. At my community college, I had a 4.0 major GPA, 3.8 overall GPA. At the UC I'm at now, I have a 3.67 overall GPA. A 3.77 math GPA and a 3.86 physics GPA. I have taken three graduate classes (full series of real analysis). I am writing an honors thesis with a professor overviewing statistical mechanics/probability. This paper should be published soon. No other research experience though. I have experience tutoring and I have been a grader for a little over a year. I haven't taken the GRE (taking this over the summer).

I am interested in mathematical physics, in particular stochastic dynamics.

I'm not looking to get into a "top tier" school. I just want a decent, funded program. What options are available for me? I think I have a fairly strong GPA. A 3.77 is pretty decent I feel like, especially because of the As in community college (balancing things out gives a 3.87 or so). I feel like I don't have as much research as I'm sure they'd want. But to be fair, I went to a community college for 2 years which has less opportunities. And I am doing some research with a professor.

As for letter of recs, I can count on my advisor who really, really likes me. He would write me a glowing letter. He's not a big name or anything, but he IS a professor who I've worked with a lot. I took a class with him (got an A+, like top 5 in the class). I'm writing a paper with him, and I'm actually grading for him as well. I know a few other teachers that really like me, say hi to me more than a year after having a class with them.

Physics news on Phys.org