Getting into Photonics grad school for an EE major

In summary: Overall, it will be important for you to showcase your dedication and commitment to the field of photonics in your application materials. In summary, despite some challenges, with the right preparation and a strong application, you have a good chance of being accepted into a quality masters program in the field of photonics.
antew
I hold an Electrical Engineering (EE) BSC (3.45/4 GPA). I graduated in 2009.

I am passionate to pursue a career in physics related studies specially optics and photonics. There are no universities offering that in my country. So I have to look into US or Europe.

But it has now been about five years since I graduated, besides I don't have relevant work experience to photonics. I am currently working as a programmer/software developer. Consequently, grad schools are rejecting me.

So, I am thinking of a workaround here. (Strengthen myself and comeback)

I am going to do MSC in communication engineering, and a BSC on Applied math (physics stream) at the same time in a three year period, in my country.

I think that gives me an edge, but I will be 30 by then.

Even though, I will have the masters by then, I don't want to do PHD, because the education quality in my country is average. I want to go to a quality masters program in photonics.

What do you think my chances of getting accepted will be?

I really need your opinion
Thanks,

Physics news on Phys.org