Getting a degree in physics after MD?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of pursuing a degree in physics after completing an MD. While it is possible, it may not be practical due to the time and financial constraints of medical school. Additionally, there may be challenges in proving qualifications for biophysics research. However, some people do choose to study physics before entering medical school, and it can provide a strong foundation for their medical careers. Ultimately, the decision to pursue a degree in physics after an MD depends on individual circumstances and priorities.
thedexter
I am an MBBS student currently in my third semester and I wanted to know that whether I can get a degree in physics after my MD (which I surely will be doing after my MBBS ). My interest in physics hasn't died down a bit since I left High school but well physics isn't much required in medicine so I won't be studying physics any more during my MBBS or MD so the question is can I get a degree in physics later in life and M.sc probably? Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Dude, you can but why? xD

MrWarlock616 said:
Dude, you can but why? xD

But Why not?? :confused:

Because

• It costs a lot of money
  • One degree will be useless since you won't work both as a physicist and an MD
  • You will have forgotten most of your medical studies once you finished with physics
  • You are not guaranteed to even like physics or be good at it

This guy studied medicine in the Netherlands (5-6 year program, I believe), and then went for a MD/PhD at Harvard. The good news is that MD-PhDs are funded. The bad news is I don't know how you'd be able to prove that you are qualified to conduct biophysics research.

Perhaps studying on your own, and acing the physics GRE and/or conducting research.

There is nothing to say you couldn't go on into physics after completing a medical degree. If you have the time and the money to do it, you'll likely be able to.