Geometry problem - calculating curve coordinates from versines

In summary, Banksie said that he doesn't know how to solve a problem where he needs to reconstruct the vertical geometry of a rail using versine information. He found an article on versine and sin/cos relationships, which explained how to calculate the height of a rail at one end of a chord using a relationship between initial starting values and the other end of the chord. He doesn't know the angle of the profile at each measurement, but he assumes that the profile starts at zero and the remainder of the profile is relative to that. He also found some links that may help him solve his problem.
banksie
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone can help me. I don’t have a homework problem, but a problem I have encountered at work. I am a mechanical engineer working in the railway industry and I am struggling with a problem of reconstructing the vertical geometry of a rail in terms of height and distance along the rail.

The rail is measured using a chord measuring system, with versines taken at two points along the chord:- a point halfway along the chord and a point between the mid-point and the end. The measuring chord is moved along the rail at equally spaced intervals and the versine pairs measured at each point. The chord length is an integer multiple of the measuring interval.