Fusion and Renewable Energy Education Paths

In summary, the conversation discusses options for pursuing a career in renewable energy research. The participants mention various disciplines such as nuclear engineering, electrical engineering, and physics, and suggest that pursuing a degree in electrical engineering may provide more flexibility and job opportunities. The conversation also touches on the specific area of fusion research and the potential job market for those with a PhD in this field. It is suggested that there may be more job opportunities in other areas of engineering or alternative career paths, such as software engineering.
Moriarty
My counselors, advisers, and teachers are tired of me so I've come here for some help. I've been interested in renewable energy since I was much younger, but was wondering what kind of path one goes down to dive into becoming a part of the research involved in figuring out our problems with energy. For my background, I'm an American student who's finished his AP Physics 1, 2, and C:Mechanics courses, and am psyched to take my C:E&M in the spring. I love the theory behind physics and am actually thinking of pursuing physics despite the bleak outlook of employment, but it's my understanding that if I want to be a part of energy research I should pursue nuclear engineering (for something like fusion) or electrical engineering. Fusion interests me more than anything, and I've been talking with schools about their nuclear engineering and physics programs. I need another set of opinions though. In your experience who is more likely to be employed as a researcher in new ways of creating usable energy, and what is the most in demand engineer or physicist in these fields?

Physics news on Phys.org