Finding Time with Acceleration Inital Velocity, Displacement

In summary, you are attempting to find the impact velocity of a vehicle. However, you are having difficulty because you forgot to include the sign in the acceleration.
NeedHelp18

Homework Statement

Currently i am studying two dimensional collisions. In order to find the impact velocity of a vehicle so i can determine the momentum and etc. I have inital velocity=130km/h, displacement (or the braking distance)=54.34m and the deceleration = 11.9812m/s/s. I need to find the time of the braking distance in order to find the impact velocity of the vehicle. Can anyone please help me do this?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I attempted using the equations of motion such as, v^2=u^2+2as and s=ut+1/2at^2 but they get me different answers and ridiculous answers that are greater than the initial velocity. I believe the impact velocity should be somewhere around 60-70km/h

Physics news on Phys.org
NeedHelp18 said:

Homework Statement

Currently i am studying two dimensional collisions. In order to find the impact velocity of a vehicle so i can determine the momentum and etc. I have inital velocity=130km/h, displacement (or the braking distance)=54.34m and the deceleration = 11.9812m/s/s. I need to find the time of the braking distance in order to find the impact velocity of the vehicle. Can anyone please help me do this?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I attempted using the equations of motion such as, v^2=u^2+2as and s=ut+1/2at^2 but they get me different answers and ridiculous answers that are greater than the initial velocity. I believe the impact velocity should be somewhere around 60-70km/h
Hello NeedHelp18. Welcome to PF !

You should show those erroneous answers and how you got them. That is according to the guidelines for this Forum.

Here are a couple of questions that may help you.

Were the units you used for the various quantities compatible?